Show Contact Information +

Visit historic Peterson and see two restored 1800 homes and the Block House, the last remaining piece of the Northern Border Brigade Fort system. Immerse yourself in history at the Kirchner Farm Museum, Jim's History Barn and the French Museum. Visit the live buffalo at the Prairie Heritage Center. Downtown features shopping and local artisan's shops. Located just off the Glacial Trail Scenic Byway!

Peterson was established in 1856 by a small group of families, including the Kirchner's. The Kirchner's were visited on November 23, 1856, by Inkpaduta's band of Native Americans. Inkpaduta's band visited again on February 14, 1857, before going north to Spirit Lake. Originally the Kirchners called the area "Long Grove" and Howard Peterson, owner of the mill, wanted to name the area "Howard" but due to another Howard, Iowa the federal postal department named the area "Peterson" instead. The first frame house was built by the Kirchners and still stands in Peterson along with another of the Kirchner homes in town available for tours. The first county seat was Peterson from 1860 until 1871 when the county put it to a vote and moved the seat to Spencer.

Show More +

Located in Lakes & Land

See Iowa from a Whole New Perspective

Whether you're seeking rest and relaxation, outdoor exploration or family adventures, the opportunities are endless.