Travel
Guide
This business has verified its information within the last 12 months.

Rock Island Railroad Depot

Show Contact Information +
The Stuart Rock Island Depot was built in 1879. The Railroad relocated all shops to Valley Junction in 1897. Passenger trains stopped until the 1960s and a depot agent was employed until 1976. It was slated for destruction in 1977, but stopped by a group of Stuart residents. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. The Stuart Depot Restoration committee was formed and the depot was fully renovated. The depot now serves as a venue and displays historical artifacts.
Show More +

This listing is part of the Scenic Byway Passport.

Located in Loess Hills & Beyond