This business has verified its information within the last 12 months.
Clinton County Historical Society Museum and Library
Established in 1965 to preserve, promote, and display the history of the residents as they lived, played and worked. The museum building is a historical landmark dating from 1858. Originally used as a Commission House for steamboats, it was sold to the Oakes family in 1880 for their lumber yard. The operation continued until 1983. In 1995, the building was purchased by the CCHS to develop into a museum. Here, the story of early settlers of this Mississippi River area and the booming lumber business is told. Permanent collection includes old photographs of the area, memorabilia, period furniture, authentic 1924 kitchen and the "Resolute," one of the only three manually-powered engines on display in the world.