Mt. Sterling was platted in 1853 as has been known as Wood’s Mill, Union Corners, and Gwinnupsburg, but is most popularly known by its nickname “Dog Town.” Mt. Sterling hit national and international fame in 2003 when the late Jo Hamlett, then mayor, proposed a “No Lying Ordinance” for the town which regularly hosts hunters and fisherman. In fact, Mt. Sterling has nearly 3,000 acres of public wetlands and hunting grounds, on which nearly 100 different species of wild life have been observed including ducks, geese, swans, turkey, deer, pheasant, quail, otters, and eagles.