Discovery Days: NASA Exploration Design Challenge

Friday Nov 29, 2013 - Saturday Nov 30, 2013
Bluedorn Science Imaginarium
322 Washington St.
Waterloo


Event Phone: 319.234.6357

Take part in NASA's Exploration Design Challenge during Discovery Days at the Bluedorn Science Imaginarium.  The goal of the Exploration Design Challenge is for students to research and design ways to protect astronauts from space radiation. NASA and Lockheed Martin are developing the Orion spacecraft that will carry astronauts beyond low Earth orbit and on to an asteroid or Mars. Protecting astronauts from radiation on these distant travels is an important and very real problem that needs solving.

All students that participate in this challenge can join other participants from around the world to celebrate the Exploration Flight Test-1 of Orion by having their names flown on board as honorary crew members.

View Larger Map
To get driving directions to this location, enter your address below (e.g. 801 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA)
View All Events »
Also in the Area:
    Items within:


    Filter by type:
Showing 40 items.
Showing 1 to 12 of 40 items.
Attractions
Family Fun
Museums
Bluedorn Science Imaginarium - Grout Museum District
322 Washington St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.233.8708
click to view
Event
Genomics Explorer
322 Washington St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday May 23, 2014 - Saturday Sep 6, 2014
click to view
Event
Weekly Wonder: Starry Night
322 Washington St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Jun 10, 2014
click to view
Event
Rocket Camp
322 Washington St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Wednesday Jun 18, 2014 - Thursday Jun 19, 2014
click to view
Event
Day Camp: Space Shot!
322 Washington St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Monday Aug 4, 2014 - Friday Aug 8, 2014
click to view
Attractions
Historical
Museums
Rensselaer Russell House Museum - Grout Museum District
520 W 3rd St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.234.6357
0.01 miles away
click to view
Event
Bring Your Mom To Tea
503 South Street
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday Apr 26, 2014
0.01 miles away
click to view
Event
Derby Day Fundraiser
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday May 3, 2014
0.11 miles away
click to view
Event
The Curious World of Patent Models
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday May 6, 2014 - Tuesday Sep 23, 2014
0.11 miles away
click to view
Event
Memorial Day
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Monday May 26, 2014
0.11 miles away
click to view
Event
D-Day Remembrance and Spirit Walk
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday Jun 7, 2014
0.11 miles away
click to view
Event
Weekly Wonder: How to Train Your Dragon
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Jun 17, 2014 - Friday Jun 20, 2014
0.11 miles away
click to view
Search for more listings