Discovery Days: Keeping Warm in Wintertime

Thursday Dec 26, 2013 - Saturday Dec 28, 2013
Sullivan Brothers Iowa Veteran Museum
503 South St.
Waterloo


Event Phone: 319.234.6357

Ever wonder how people kept warm in Pioneer times or how the military keeps the soldiers warm? Come to the Sullivan Brother's Iowa Veterans Museum/Grout Museum and try on different military coats. See how quilts are made and make a square of your own. See and feel buffalo hide and how pioneers and Native Americans used this to keep warm. What other farm products to we use to keep warm?

You'll be exploring both the Grout and Veterans Museum to discover all the interesting things we've used to keep us warm. You will be able to make your own candle and see if you can locate our chicken, Henrietta, in our farm exhibit.

View Larger Map
To get driving directions to this location, enter your address below (e.g. 801 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA)
View All Events »
Also in the Area:
    Items within:


    Filter by type:
Showing 45 items.
Showing 1 to 12 of 45 items.
Event
Moonlight Mixers: Statewide Tailgate
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday Aug 30, 2014
click to view
Event
What's In a Name? The Soul of a Quilt
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Sep 23, 2014 - Saturday Mar 14, 2015
click to view
Event
Chili Supper
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday Oct 18, 2014
click to view
Event
Portraits of Iowa
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Oct 28, 2014 - Saturday Apr 18, 2015
click to view
Event
Discover Days: History of Thanksgiving
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Nov 28, 2014 - Saturday Nov 29, 2014
click to view
Event
Moonlight Mixers: The Simpsons
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Dec 12, 2014
click to view
Event
Moonlight Mixers: Harry Potter
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Feb 20, 2015
click to view
Event
The Journey of Astrophotography
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday May 2, 2015
click to view
Attractions
Family Fun
Historical
Museums
Grout Museum of History & Science - Grout Museum District
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.234.6357
0.00 miles away
click to view
Attractions
Family Fun
Historical
Museums
Sullivan Brothers Iowa Veterans Museum - Grout Museum District
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.234.6357
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Cedar Valley Pridefest
300 W 4th St.
Waterloo, IA
Saturday Aug 23, 2014
0.07 miles away
click to view
Event
Park to Park Half Marathon
Waterloo, IA
Saturday Sep 6, 2014
0.07 miles away
click to view
Search for more listings