It's Not Your Grandparent's Farm, Or Is It?

Tuesday Apr 30, 2013 - Saturday Apr 26, 2014
Grout Museum of Science & History
503 South St.
Waterloo, Iowa 50701
groutmuseumdistrict.org


Event Phone: 319.234.6357

When most people think of the Iowa farm, they picture corn, beans, hogs and beef. However, small farming operations that once grew these four cash crops and livestock cannot compete with the larger, often corporate production units. Many family farms look for ways to continue their way of life and earn a living raising a variety of crops and farm animals and selling their products locally.

Videos, photographs, artifacts, and ephemera will enhance the story, while a hands-on “Little Farmer” area will give kids opportunity to learn what farming in Iowa is like.

View Larger Map
To get driving directions to this location, enter your address below (e.g. 801 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA)
View All Events »
Also in the Area:
    Items within:


    Filter by type:
Showing 49 items.
Showing 1 to 12 of 49 items.
Attractions
Family Fun
Historical
Museums
Grout Museum of History & Science - Grout Museum District
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.234.6357
click to view
Attractions
Family Fun
Historical
Museums
Sullivan Brothers Iowa Veterans Museum - Grout Museum District
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA 50701
Ph: 319.234.6357
click to view
Event
Day Camp: Dragons
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Monday Jul 28, 2014 - Friday Aug 1, 2014
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Moonlight Mixers: Statewide Tailgate
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday Aug 30, 2014
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
What's In a Name? The Soul of a Quilt
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Sep 23, 2014 - Saturday Mar 14, 2015
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Portraits of Iowa
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Tuesday Oct 28, 2014 - Saturday Apr 18, 2015
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Discover Days: History of Thanksgiving
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Nov 28, 2014 - Saturday Nov 29, 2014
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Moonlight Mixers: The Simpsons
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Dec 12, 2014
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Moonlight Mixers: Harry Potter
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Friday Feb 20, 2015
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
The Journey of Astrophotography
503 South St.
Waterloo, IA
Ph: 319.234.6357
Saturday May 2, 2015
0.00 miles away
click to view
Event
Cedar Valley Pridefest
300 W 4th St.
Waterloo, IA
Saturday Aug 23, 2014
0.07 miles away
click to view
Event
Park to Park Half Marathon
Waterloo, IA
Saturday Sep 6, 2014
0.07 miles away
click to view
Search for more listings