Return to News Releases

Iowa Tourism Organizations, Individuals Receive Awards at 2013 Conference

October 18, 2013

For more information contact:

Jessica O’Riley – Iowa Tourism Office, Iowa Economic Development Authority
515.725.3085 or

Iowa Tourism Organizations, Individuals Receive Awards at 2013 Conference

October 18, 2013 (Waterloo, Iowa) — The Iowa Tourism Office and the Travel Federation of Iowa presented 20 awards recognizing excellence in the tourism industry last night in Waterloo during the 2013 Iowa Tourism Conference.

“These awards offer a great way to publicly recognize the hard-working, dedicated and passionate individuals who help grow Iowa’s tourism economy,” said Iowa Tourism Office Manager Shawna Lode.

Eight awards were presented for both metro and rural areas. Hall of Fame awards for leadership were presented to an individual, attraction and community. In addition, conference attendees voted for the People’s Choice Award; nominees were the second-highest scoring nominations in each of the eight categories. 

The complete list of 2013 Iowa Tourism Award recipients:

Outstanding Promotion Material

Dubuque Convention and Visitors Bureau (Metro)
Villages of Van Buren (Rural)

Outstanding Website

Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau (Metro)
Charles City Whitewater (Rural)

Outstanding Social Media

Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines (Metro)
Fairfield Convention and Visitors Bureau (Rural)

Outstanding Niche Marketing Initiative

Summer of the Arts, Iowa City (Metro)
Grinnell Games, Grinnell (Rural)

Outstanding Collaboration

Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau, Iowa Events Center, Iowa State University and Polk County for the Division I Wrestling Championships (Metro)
Mississippi River Power 100 Committee, Keokuk (Rural)

Outstanding New Event

Division I National Wrestling Championships, Des Moines (Metro)
Smoke on the Water BBQ Competition, Okoboji (Rural)

Outstanding Tourism Business

Iowa Events Center, Des Moines (Metro)
RVP~1875 and History Boy Theatre Company, Jefferson (Rural)

Outstanding Tourism Experience

Reiman Gardens, Ames (Metro)
American Gothic House, Eldon (Rural)

Hall of Fame Individual Tourism Leadership: Kelly Hayworth, City Manager, Coralville

Hall of Fame Attraction Tourism Leadership: Grout Museum District, Waterloo

Hall of Fame Community Tourism Leadership: Pella

People’s Choice Award:  “What Women Want” Event, Dubuque

The annual Iowa Tourism Conference brings together more than 250 industry representatives from across the state to network, attend educational sessions and discuss emerging industry trends.

Tourism in Iowa generates more than $7.6 billion in expenditures, employs 64,400 people statewide and generates $841.3 million in state taxes. The Iowa Tourism Office is part of the Iowa Economic Development Authority. For more information, visit, like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, call 800.345.IOWA, or stop at any Iowa Welcome Center.

*     *     *

Media Contacts

Jessica O'Riley
Iowa Tourism Office
Iowa Economic Development Authority