2013 Tourism Awards

The Iowa Tourism Office and Travel Federation of Iowa are proud to host the annual Iowa Tourism Awards, honoring Iowa’s most outstanding attractions, events, communities, organizations and individuals. These awards represent the highest honor given for tourism in Iowa.

Nominations will be accepted until 4 p.m. on Friday, August 30.

Read the full award guidelines before submitting nominations. [PDF]


Nomination forms cannot be saved to complete later. Form will accept copy/paste from Word.
Self-nominations are accepted.


Main Awards

Two of each of the following awards will be awarded (with the exception of the People’s Choice Award), one to a rural winner (towns with less than 20,000 population and/or counties with less than 40,000 population) and one to a metro winner (towns with more than 20,000 population and/or counties with more than 40,000 population).

Outstanding Tourism Experience
     2012 Winner: Dubuque (Outstanding Tourism Community) and Cedar Valley Trails (Outstanding Tourism Attraction)

Outstanding Collaboration
     2012 Winner: Iowa State Fair and Windstar Lines, State Fair Express program (Outstanding Cooperative Partnership)

Outstanding New Event (less than three years old)
     2012 Winner: Iowa State Fair (Outstanding Event/Festival)

Outstanding Tourism Business
     No prior comparable winner.

Outstanding Niche Market Initiative
     2012 Winner: Manning Hausbarn-Heritage Park for RAGBRAI Corn Maze

Outstanding Social Media Execution
     No prior comparable winner.

Outstanding Promotional Material
     2012 Winner: Waterloo/Cedar Falls Visitors Guide (Outstanding Tourism Publication)

Outstanding Website
     2012 Winner: Iowa State Fair (Outstanding Interactive Marketing Initiative)

People’s Choice Award
This award category will be voted on at the Iowa Tourism Conference. Second place winners from the above categories are eligible to win.
     2012 Winner: Council Bluffs CVB


Tourism Leadership Hall of Fame Awards

These awards will honor communities, attractions and individuals for their long-term excellence in tourism industry initiatives and leadership. Nominees can win these awards only one time.

Community Tourism Leadership Award
This award honors a community showing overall excellence in leading tourism initiatives.

Attraction Tourism Leadership Award
This award honors an attraction showing overall excellence in tourism hospitality and leadership.

Individual Tourism Leadership Award
This award honors an industry professional, volunteer, politician, partner or media providing leadership and support for the tourism industry.
     2012 Winners: Ron Corbett (Outstanding Elected Official), Lori Foresman-Kirpes (Individual Friend of Tourism), Jeff
     Thee (Media Friend of Tourism), Principal Financial Group (Corporate Friend of Tourism)